Research: its Aims and Structure

30 Oct

Phil Jones spoke about his thesis ‘The Bones of the Book:  Schematic Structure and Meanings made from from Books’ and it lead me to question my Study Plan immediately. It is only a synopsis right now, but in time I should be confident of where my research stands in the academic world. These are some pointers from Phil on how to structure your research, in my own words:

> The Subject
This is the underlying aim, drive or motivation behind my work.

> The Field
What is the state of interactive media today? What is the most current research and art in this field, and how and in which direction is it moving towards. What are the factions etc.

> Research Question
Specifying the focus of the study using relevant technical terms from my discipline, in a question format.
Aim, Objectives (Detailed aim) will flow from the research question.

> Theoretical Context
World view, philosophical point of view, which will then influence your practice, awareness.

> Methods
Connected to your theoretical framework.

> Claims and Truths
Provably true, probably true (statistics) or plausibly true (convincing argument)

> Prediction of the form of the final presentation

Leave a comment